A Walk Down Memory Lane
A Walk Down Memory Lane is a series of interviews with our senior members of Center Presbyterian Church.
Take a step back in time and read the interesting stories about
Tellico Plains and Center Church, as told by our members.
Debbie Freeman (click here) July 19, 1949 – December 1, 2015
Nell Frye (click here) June 8, 1920 - May 6, 2015†
Billy O. Frye (click here) May 26, 2013 (Obituary)
Bonnie Jean Anderson (click here) March 14, 2013 (Obituary)
John (Tim) Wood (click here) November 18, 2012 (Obituary)
Paul V. Grahn (click here) August 2011 (Obituary)
Kenneth M. Sherman (click here) July 2009 (Obituary)
Marguerite Ewart (click here) February 2009 (Obituary)
Alberta Shaw (click here) April 2006 (April 22, 1917-September, 2010)
Oma Roberts (click here) August 2006 (March 2, 1921-September 28, 2011)
Center Presbyterian Church Sunday school was organized in the old Center school house on May 15, 1915 by the community as a union Sunday school. They met in the afternoons. Ministers of several denominations delivered sermons after the Sunday school hour on appointed Sundays.
Rev. Sam Wolf, a Presbyterian, was one of the ministers.
In August 1923, a brush arbor was built across the road from where the Church now stands. Rev. Sam Wolf and his brother Rev. Davis Wolf, held a revival where many souls were saved. November 11, 1923, a Presbyterian Church was organized as a result of this meeting.
The Church was built on land given by Mr. C.A. Scott as a Mission Church by the help of the Community by donating money, materials and labor.